Whitey on the Moon: An Epic Poem to Commemorate Jeff Bezos’ Day in Space

Nothing says Narcissistic Personality Disorder more than a western man jetting to space in a penis-shaped rocket leaving in his wake a dying planet

Kuyili
2 min readJul 20, 2021

Gil Scott-Heron wrote this poem in 1970, criticizing the 1969 US moon landing as a waste of resources that could have been better put to use helping people confront the everyday costs of living on Earth. Gil Scott-Heron’s masterpiece, Whitey on the Moon is as relevant today as it was 51 years ago:

A rat done bit my sister Nell.

(with Whitey on the moon)

Her face and arms began to swell.

(and Whitey’s on the moon)

I can’t pay no doctor bill.

(but Whitey’s on the moon)

Ten years from now I’ll be payin’ still.

(while Whitey’s on the moon)

The man jus’ upped my rent las’ night.

(‘cause Whitey’s on the moon)

No hot water, no toilets, no lights.

(but Whitey’s on the moon)

I wonder why he’s uppi’ me?

--

--